Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) is an independent team of experts with backgrounds and expertise in fields that are relevant for AMI. The board provides an outside view to help position the institute in its national and international environment. 

The SAB advises the Council: 
  • In strategic and scientific questions
  • In the definition of the longterm strategic direction
  • In the definition of the sections
  • In the evaluation of the scientific output of the institute
  • Members of the Scientific Advisory Board
    • Dr. Alan D. English (President)
      Senior Research Fellow, DuPont Central Research and Development, USA
    • Prof. Luisa De Cola

      University of Strasbourg, Institute of Supramolecular Science and Engineering (ISIS), Strasbourg, France

    • Prof. Giovanni Dietler
      Head Laboratory of Physics of Living Matter, EPFL, Switzerland
    • Prof. Alex Dommann
      Empa, St. Gallen, CH

    • Prof. Paula Hammond
      David H. Koch Professor in Engineering, and Executive Officer, MIT, USA
    • Prof. em. Heinrich Hofmann
      Former head of the Powder Technology Laboratory, EPFL, Switzerland

    • Dr. Alexander Moscho
      Executive Vice President Chief Strategy Office, UCB
    • Prof. Dieter Richter
      Head Institute of Solid State Research, Forschungszentrum Jülich, Germany
    • Prof. Marcus Textor
      Former Head of Biointerface Group at Department of Materials, ETH Zürich, Switzerland
    • Prof. Ben Zhong Tang
      Chair Professor of Chemistry, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST), China