Aerosol researchPublished on 31.08.2023

International honor for AMI professor

The Adolphe Merkle Institute’s Co-Chair of BioNanomaterials, Prof. Barbara Rothen-Rutishauser has been named a Fellow of the International Society for Aerosols in Medicine (ISAM). This award recognizes recipients’ achievements, commitment, and contributions to the society, as well as outstanding contributions in the field of aerosols in medicine. Rothen-Rutishauser received her award at the ISAM conference in Saarbrücken, Germany, along with three other researchers.

Rothen-Rutishauser is an expert in the field of cell-nanoparticle interactions, with a special focus on 3D tissue models. Her work includes the development of alternative testing methods that can be used for hazard assessments and drug testing approaches. Since 2011, she has been the co-chair of BioNanomaterials at the Adolphe Merkle Institute, a position shared equally with Prof. Alke Fink. Rothen-Rutishauser is also a past president of the ISAM and has served on multiple international and national advisory committees, including Switzerland’s Federal Commission for Air Hygiene.

The ISAM was founded in 1973 to promote and advance aerosol science internationally, focusing on the health effects of inhaled aerosols including inhaled drug delivery for prevention and treatment of human disease. Its conferences, which take place every two years are among the world's largest conferences on respiratory health and inhaled drug delivery.